Home | Legals | Data Protection | KIT
Friends of IMK-IFU - VFF-IFU e.V.

Managing Board:

Prof. Dr. W. Seiler, President
Adv. T. Radtke, Vice-President
M. Sperl, Treasure
Dr. H. Escher-Vetter, Secretary
Prof. Dr. H.P. Schmid, Head of Institute

Friends of IMK-IFU - VFF-IFU e.V.

VFF-IFU e.V. was founded in 1989 as a registered non-profit-making association.
Its area of responsibility is

  • financial aid to support scientific projects and workshops.
  • an annual award for outstanding scientific and professional performance with respect to publications, doctoral thesis and diploma thesis presented by staff members.
  • protection of the interest of IMK-IFU vis-à-vis policy makers and the media.


There is an annual general meeting during which the members have the opportunity to gain an insight into the current scientific work of the members of IMK-IFU and the development of the institute.
The annual award is also presented at the general meeting.

The membership is open to all.
(i.e. former staff members, local politicians, representatives of business and industry, scientific bodies and interested members of the general public)

For further informations please contact:

Friends of IMK-IFU - VFF-IFU e.V.

Verein der Freunde und Förderer des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK-IFU) – VFF-IFU e.V.
c/o KIT-Campus Alpin
Kreuzeckbahnstr. 19
82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Tel.  08821 183-101
Fax. 08821 183-103
email: vff-ifu.info∂kit.edu

download: Flyer VFF-IFU e.V.
                Charter of VFF-IFU e.V.
                Application for membership


Awardees 2018:

1. Award: Dr. Dominikus Heinzeller

Heinzeller, D.; Dieng, D.; Smiatek, G.; Olusegung, C.; Klein, C.; Hamann, I.; Salack, S.; Bliefernicht, J.; Kunstmann, H.

The WASCAL high-resolution regional climate simulation ensemble for West Africa: concept, dissemination and assessment.

Earth System Science Data, 10 (2018), 815-835. https://doi.org/10.5194/essd-10-815-2018


2. Award: Dr. Andreas Krause

Krause, A.; Puhj, T.A.M.; Bayer, A.D.; Li, W.; Leung, F.; Bondeau, A.; Doelman, J.C.; Humpenöder, F.; Anthoni, P.; Bodirsky, B.L.; Ciais, P.; Müller, C.; Murray-Tortarolo, G.; Olin, S.; Popp, A.; Sitch, S.; Stehfest, E.; Arneth, A.

Large uncertainty in carbon uptake potential of land-based climate-change mitigation efforts.

Global Change Biology, 24-7 (2018), 3025-3038; doi: 10.1111/gcb.14144

Prof. Schmid, Dr. Krause, Dr. Heinzeller, Dr. Escher-Vetter, Prof. Seiler (left to right), photo: private

Awardees of the last years